Can NoMachine block an attempt to connect?

Forums / General Discussions / Can NoMachine block an attempt to connect?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #16681
    russolanotte
    Participant

    Hi all,

    Would it be possible for NoMachine to block an attempt to connect if there is already someone connected?

    As it is at the moment (I’m talking about the Free version, of course), it disconnects whoever went first without warning.

    An example of how I would like it to work:
    PersonA connects to MachineX ->
    PersonB wants to connect to MachineX but he/she is given a warning that there is someone already connected.

    Is it at all possible or is this an enterprise feature?

    Thank you very much!
    Regards,
    -R

    #16728
    Britgirl
    Keymaster

        it disconnects whoever went first without warning.

    This happens because PersonA and PersonB are connecting with the same username to the remote machine (‘session migration’). This is the normal behaviour.

    If two people connect to the same remote desktop e.g first PersonA (Mickey) and then PersonB (Minnie), Mickey will see a message “User Minnie is requesting a connection to this desktop…Accept, view only, deny”. And Minnie will see “Waiting for the desktop user to authorize your connection”.

    In the case of NoMachine free, Mickey will have to disconnect to let Minne connect because you have one connection to the remote desktop at any time.

    If you use Enterprise Desktop, you get unlimited connections to the same desktop. I.e multiple user names can connect. So Mickey won’t have to disconnect.

    #16954
    russolanotte
    Participant

    Hi

    Thank you very much for your reply. Sorry it took me so long to answer, I’ve become a dad in the meanwhile ooops!

    So, you are saying that, with Enterprise Desktop, multiple user names can connect. Does it mean that if I want to connect using the same username, I will still be disconnected?

    Thank you

    Regards,

    -R

    #16961
    Britgirl
    Keymaster

    Congratulations 🙂

     

    Enterprise Desktop, for access to the physical display, lets unlimited users connect. They will see the same GUI which is running on the remote host. I suggest you also take a look at the following articles which outlines the differences between NoMachine free, Enterprise Desktop etc.

    https://www.nomachine.com/AR07L00808

    https://www.nomachine.com/AR10K00702

    By default when a user connects to a server where that same user is already connected, NoMachine migrates the running connection to the new device which is requesting to connect, it assumes you are the same person because you are using the same session file (in the Recent connections panel). To change this, create more than one NXS file, each one with a different name, so the client will not match the running session.

     

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)

This topic was marked as solved, you can't post.