Disconnecting on idle and not saving logins

Forums / NoMachine for Mac / Disconnecting on idle and not saving logins

Tagged: 

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #31672
    algebravic
    Participant

    I’ve used NoMachine for a number of years to connect to a remote Linux system from my Mac.  Normally, I log on to the remote system, to use during a workday.  After I upgraded to the newest version of NoMachine 7.0.211 I’ve found that if I don’t interact with the remote system, that NoMachine disconnects, and I need to log in all over again.  The remote desktop is still there to reconnect to.  I rarely, if ever, had this behaviour before the upgrade.  Does anyone have a suggestion as to how to track down the cause of the problem?

    Also, despite the fact that the login screen gives me the option of saving my userid and password, it never does.  That is, I check the box, but the next time it’s never saved.  This has been a problem for the last few years, on whatever version I’ve used.  Is there any way to get this to work?  I’ve tried uninstalling NoMachine, and reinstalling, to no avail.

    #31721
    Tor
    Contributor

    Hi. About the credentials saving issue, do you connect to the server through an automatically discovered server item, or did you manually configure the connection by setting the server IP? If you’re not sure open the context menu by right clicking the connection item, and check if the “remove connection” menu entry exists or not.

    PS: I’m discussing the connection dropping in the other thread you’ve opened, to better split the topics.

    #31724
    algebravic
    Participant

    I manually configured the connection by entering the IP address and checking on private key authentication. When I right-click on it, the “Remove Connection” menu item is there.

    #32382
    Tor
    Contributor

    If the client can create the connection file it should also be able to modify it, but just to be sure everything is correct, could you check permissions and ownership of folder Documents/NoMachine and connection files stored inside it?

    Please try also to right click the connection in the Machines list, select the item “Create a copy file”, save the new file on the desktop and connect by using this entry instead of the original. Are credentials saved in that case?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)

Closed because the user did not provide further feedback. Please notify us if you confirm that it is resolved or open a new topic if you have the same problem.