No active sessions in session list

Forums / NoMachine for Mac / No active sessions in session list

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #1237
    Avatartedde59
    Participant

    Hi,

    using the free version 4.6.8 on MacOS 10.8.5 and Linux Mint 12.04

    When I reconnect to the two Linux server at different universities I regularly use (running latest CentOS + some free NX server), I always get a new session, although the old sessions on the server are still active.

    If I use the same free NX client on Linux (virtual machine on the same Mac) to connect to any of the two servers, I get a list of sessions first before connecting,

    #1250
    AvatarBritgirl
    Keymaster

    When the NoMachine Client connects to a server 3.5 or to a server 4.0 which defines the Connection policy rules, it starts a new session if it can’t reconnect a session already running. There may be a problem with the detection of the session to reconnect. Precise information about the NoMachine software versions (client and server) will be helpful to debug the issue.

    #1251
    Avatartedde59
    Participant

    Hi, tried to verify the difference using the MacOS and Linux clients (4.6.8) connecting to CentOS 6.5 and the default NX server from the distribution, but could not suddenly see any difference between the MacOS and Linux clients, contrary to reported first. With both clients, I got new sessions directly on the host.

    HOWEVER, when I reconnected and did “Reset login information and preferences”, suddenly the session list appeared. This worked with both clients to the same host.

    To me this seems not really consistent, but until I see it again and can repeat it, it is hard to complain on otherwise a very nice product!

    #1273
    AvatarBritgirl
    Keymaster

    I tried to verify the difference using the MacOS and Linux clients (4.6.8) connecting to CentOS 6.5 and the default NX server from the distribution

    This indicates that you could be connecting to an older NX server, possibly 3.5.0. You are therefore connecting using a connection file created with (let’s say) NX Client 3.5.0, in which the type of the desktop (e.g. KDE, Gnome etc) is always saved in the connection settings. Selecting the desktop type was a pre-requisite in 3.5.0 before logging in, in version 4 you select after authentication.

    when I reconnected and did “Reset login information and preferences”, suddenly the session list appeared. This worked with both clients to the same host.

    This means that the check box is doing its job properly 🙂 You can see the remote sessions list because when resetting the connection configuration, the session type you have already set in your “old connecting file” gets removed. The client can’t automatically start an “unknown” session and hence you get the option to run a new virtual desktop session. Maybe you had selected to create a new desktop and stored this setting in the connection file. Resetting this setting now, you get the options to reconnect to an existing desktop (the session list). Knowing that, if you find any inconsistency please let us know.

    If you prefer this behaviour, you can uncheck the box “Save this setting in the configuration file” when selecting the type of virtual session to start. This way you will see the session list and the option to start a new session.

    • This reply was modified 7 years, 1 month ago by AvatarBritgirl.
    #1290
    Avatartedde59
    Participant

    OK, I have tested a little bit and it seems to explain the behavior I observed. Thanks for the detailed explanation!

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

This topic was marked as solved, you can't post.