Second connection kicks first one out

Forums / General Discussions / Second connection kicks first one out

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #31869
    Avatararliinsandbulte
    Participant

    When someone is remoted into a computer, is there a way to block or notify the current remote user if another remote user tries to connect? Right now, if someone is remoted in, when another person connects, it simply kicks the first person out. No warning or explanation of what happened.

    #31883
    Avatarfisherman
    Moderator

    I am not sure what NoMachine package currently you are using, but I assume it is NoMachine free version. Free version allows only one connection to the desktop running on the host.

    By design when you are using the same username for second connection previous connection is disconnected.

    Possible solution is to use different username for the second connection if you are using a product that allows multiple connections to the same host, such as Enterprise Desktop.

    #31888
    Avatararliinsandbulte
    Participant

    I am using the free version.

    I can live with that limitation as-is.  Just thought there might be a setting to block the second user or at least prompt/notify the first connected user.

    Thanks.

    #31892
    Avatarfisherman
    Moderator

    to block second user to connect please enable

    Server –> Security –> Require permission to let remote users connect

     

    #31910
    Avatararliinsandbulte
    Participant

    I did not notice any difference in behavior with that option checked or unchecked.

    The server computer is a Win10 public PC (you might consider it a kiosk that anyone could walk up to and use).
    When it is booted, the computer is set to log in as a user (username: Bob, for example).  No password is set for the Bob account.
    Most of the time, the PC sits idle, logged in as Bab, with the screen set to turn off after some inactivity.
    Anyone can walk up to it and use it.  Just wake up the screen and start using.  No login or password needed (because it automatically boots into the Bob account and there is no password with that account).

    Others can remote into the PC through NoMachine.  They log on using the Bob account and no password.

    When I enable (check) the option “Server –> Security –> Require permission to let remote users connect”:
    I can still connect to the PC without anyone physically at the PC providing permission.
    Also, when someone else connects to the PC, the first person’s remote session is ended when the second person connects.

    When that option is disabled (unchecked), it behaves the same way.

     

    #31927
    Avatarfisherman
    Moderator

    I have mentioned previously for free version

    By design when you are using the same username for second connection previous connection is disconnected.

    For having that previous connections is not disconnected, possibly you can use NoMachine Enterprise Desktop that offers unlimited number of connections.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

This topic was marked as solved, you can't post.