Terminated session reappears after restart

Forums / NoMachine for Linux / Terminated session reappears after restart

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #21677
    Avatarmtbs29
    Participant

    I terminated an inactive session from another user (sudo /usr/NX/bin/nxserver –terminate username) and even rebooted the entire machine.  However, nxserver –list still shows a session (with a different session ID than before).  I believe this causing me to not be able to connect to the server with the client (getting a “Waiting for the desktop user to authorize your connection” message).

    Another interesting observation:

    1) sudo /usr/NX/bin/nxserver –terminate otherusername

    2) sudo /usr/NX/bin/nxserver –list

    No sessions

    3) Try connecting client as my username.  Get “Waiting for the desktop user to authorize your connection” message

    4) sudo /usr/NX/bin/nxserver –list

    1001    otherusername 127.0.0.1 2294ACAF52F76C4C6CB98DA352FD3837 localhost:4000

     

    How do I really, really terminate another session so that it won’t come back?

    #21679
    Avatarmlyn
    Contributor

    Hello,
    It looks as nxserver start permanent physical session as ‘otherusername’.

    It is a feature which automatically creates session on headless system when using the free NoMachine version or Enterprise Desktop – Are you using either of these? – and it can be changed by keys in the server.cfg (default path /usr/NX/etc/).

    When you change something in server.cfg please call command:
    /etc/NX/nxserver --restart

    to see result.

    You can disable it by changing the CreateDisplay key or changing username in the DisplayOwner key.

    #
    # Enable or disable the automatic creation of an X11 display when no
    # X servers are running on this host (e.g. headless machine) to let
    # users connect to the desktop. This setting applies to NoMachine
    # servers not supporting virtual desktops and permits to have one
    # single display.
    #
    # 1: Enabled. NoMachine will create automatically the new display at
    #    server startup. This setting has to be used in conjunction with
    #    ‘DisplayOwner’ and ‘DisplayGeometry’.
    #
    # 0: Disabled. NoMachine will prompt the user for creating the new
    #    display. This is the default.
    #
    #CreateDisplay 0

    #
    # When ‘CreateDisplay’ is enabled, specify the display owner and let
    # NoMachine create the new display without querying the user. If the
    # server supports only one concurrent connection, the connecting user
    # must be the display owner set in this key.
    #
    #DisplayOwner “”

    #
    # When ‘CreateDisplay’ is enabled, specify the resolution of the new
    # desktop in the WxH format. Default is 800×600.
    #
    #DisplayGeometry 800×600

    #21682
    Avatarmtbs29
    Participant

    Thanks!  I am running the free version.  I had enabled CreateDisplay (and messed with a few other settings) without fully understanding what I was doing.  Switching it back fixed it.

     

    #21718
    AvatarBritgirl
    Keymaster

    Thanks for letting us know!

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)

This topic was marked as solved, you can't post.