Two users connecting to host

Forums / NoMachine for Windows / Two users connecting to host

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #40134
    bobnm
    Participant

    We have Windows Server, joined to a Windows domain, as a host. There are a couple/few admins who need to occasionally use NoMachine to connect to the server.

    I’ve skimmed the user guide, but am not sure how best to approach.

    I can log in using AD credentials from a Mac (using NM). If another user (running Windows 10, but I don’t think the client matters) logs in while I am logged in, I get a dialog to allow or disallow, but even if I do nothing, the other user gets logged in; I am logged out automatically; and the other user is logged into my account on the host!

    Should we set up a local account on the host, which would at least disallow other users from hijacking our session? Ideally we could log in with our domain creds, so we’d have passthrough authentication to using MS RSAT tools like ADU&G and Group Policy Management, but if using a shared local account is the only reasonable way, I guess we will have to deal with that. thanks

    #40210
    brotech
    Participant

    Hello bobnm,

    to control NX server behaviour in that case, please use server’s configuration key:

    AutomaticDisconnection None

    The meaning of that value, and also other possibilities to set are below

    #
    
    # Configure the NX Server behavior when the maximum number of allowed
    
    # connections is reached. An already connected user can be asked to
    
    # accept or refuse to disconnect to make room for the incoming user
    
    # (this is the default), or can be automatically disconnected or
    
    # never disconnected.
    
    #
    
    # 0: Disabled. The server prompts the connected user to accept or
    
    #    refuse to disconnect for making room for the incoming user. If
    
    #    no choice is made, the user is automatically disconnected.
    
    #
    
    # 1: Enabled. The server automatically disconnects the connected user
    
    #    to make room for the connecting user. No message is issued to
    
    #    the already connected user.
    
    #
    
    # 2: None. The server prompts the connected user to accept or
    
    #    refuse to disconnect for making room for the incoming user. If
    
    #    no choice is made, the server doesn't disconnect the user and
    
    #    advise the incoming user that the maximum number of allowed
    
    #    connections is reached.
    
    #
    
    # 3: Silent. The server never notifies desktop owners about incoming
    
    #    users, incoming users are informed that the maximum number of
    
    #    allowed connections is reached.
    
    #
    
    #AutomaticDisconnection 0

    Regards
    /b

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.